The Department of Political Science, University of Hyderabad (UoH) organised an Advisory Committee Meeting on 3rd June 2016 to discuss various issues for the Bifurcation Process. The main objective of the meeting was to digitise the bifurcation process and make it available to the general public.


The Advisory Committee discussed the following aspects:

· Identify the period during which the documents to be collected for the purpose of archiving
· Identify sources and methods for collection of data
· To estimate the cost of preservation of documents in digital form
· To discuss the prospects for placing the collected material in a website that is maintained in the department
· To discuss the prospects of approaching other funding agencies

Academicians, politicians, social activists and journalists have participated in the meeting. Prof. Haragopal, former Dean of School of Social Sciences at UoH chaired the session. Prof G Sudarshanam, Head of the Department, and Prof. I. Ramabrahmam were involved in explaining the importance of the digitalisation of entire bifurcation process for the future generations.


Retired Justice Chandra Kumar, High Court of Andhra Pradesh, Shri Konda Visweshwara Reddy, Member of Parliament, Lok Sabha, Shri Boora Narasaiah Goud, Member of Parliament, Lok Sabha, Prof G Krishna Reddy, ICSSR SRC Honorary Director Osmania University, Prof M Kodandaram, Retired Professor and Chairman JAC, Telangana, Prof Adapa Satyanarayana, Department of History, OU and Consultant TSPSC, Prof V Krishna, Professor, Department of Hindi, UoH, Prof Vasanthi Srinivasan, Professor, Department of Political Science, UoH, Dr. P Ramulu, Associate Professor, Department of Telugu, UoH, Dr E Venkatesu, Assistant Professor, Department of Political Science, UoH and Dr Jaganath, Assistant Professor, Gujarat Central University have participated in the meeting.

Shri Boora Narasaiah emphasised on collecting and digitalizing the data of various social groups that have participated in the peaceful movement.

Research Scholars Gowd Kiran Kumar and Arun Ketan have also participated in the meeting.

By Gowd Kiran Kumar