The winners of the 2023 Narender Revelli National Media Fellowships have been announced. Instituted last year by the Turaga Foundation, a Hyderabad-based not-for-profit organisation, to commemorate the notable career of journalist Narender Revelli, whose work spanned three decades across print/electronic/web media, the fellowships are jointly administered by the foundation and the Department of Communication, University of Hyderabad to promote serious and public-spirited journalism.

This year the fellowships were awarded to five early and mid-career journalists who have proposed to publish well-researched stories on the theme of ‘Young India: Activism and Social Justice’. The five recipients of the fellowships amounting to a total of Rs.1.8 lakhs are: Vikram Raj (Delhi), Outlook magazine; Neetu Singh (Lucknow), BehanBox; Tej Prakash Bhardwaj (Delhi), The Patriot; Deepanwita Niyogi (Delhi), Tehelka; and Dharani B. (Chennai), Times Now News Network.

The winners are required to complete the publication of their fellowship-supported output by October 31.