The Women’s Forum is an active body of the University which takes up various activities concerning the Women employees of University of Hyderabad (UoH) under the able guidance of Smt. M. Vijaya Reddy, President of the Women’s Forum. The forum celebrated International Women’s Day today, i.e. 8th March, 2017 at the Zakir Hussain Lecture Hall Complex. Dr. (Mrs.) Shree Gyanmote, Hindi Officer conducted the programme. Smt. K.M. Vedavathi, Joint Secretary read out the report of the Women’s Forum.

The occasion was graced by all the women employees of the University who were present in large numbers. Nonetheless, the function was a grand success as many of their male colleagues also joined them.

Prof. Vipin Srivastava, PVC-1 was the chief guest on the occasion. Dr. Satylakshmi, retired employee of UoH rendered a beautiful invocation song. She also presented a memento to the chief guest. Prof. Srivastava was happy to see the diverse audience and emphasized on the fact that all women should get basic education. He also encouraged women employees in sanitation department to continue their studies and assured that University would do the needful for this cause.


The first guest speaker, Prof. Geeta Vemuganti, Dean – School of Medical Sciences mesmerized the audience with her inspirational talk. It was more of a heart-to-heart informal conversation. Everyone benefitted immensely with her speech.

Dr. V. Uma, Deputy Librarian, IGML also caught up with her and delivered her address effectively. She cited many examples where women have performed their duties and responsibilities efficiently.


The cultural programme was also well received. Smt. K.M. Vedavathi recited her Telugu poem. An employee from the sanitation department Smt. Vasanta also sang a song with a strong message. Later, Deputy Registrar, Shri. P. Thukaram spoke on the occasion and supported the entire women workforce of the University.


The programme was a grand success. Smt. N.B. Vidya Rani, Vice-President of the Forum was immensely helpful in making all the arrangements. Smt. C.K. Sujata Veni, General Secretary proposed the vote of thanks.