The Asiatic Society Kolkata has conferred the Maya Deb Memorial Lectureship award for the year 2020 on Prof. Meena Hariharan, Professor of Health Psychology, University of Hyderabad. This award is conferred in recognition of her research contributions through her work on psychological and social problems of the downtrodden Indian rural women.

Asiatic society awards are announced every year for the contribution of eminent people in India in various fields. For the year 2020, a total of 27 scholars from different fields received Plaque, Gold medals and Lectureships. That includes Prof. William Radice, the poet, Prof. Viswanathan Prasad Tiwari, Hindi Poet, Ustad Amjed Ali Khan, Eminent Sarod player, Prof.Partha Majumdar, eminent Biomedical Scientist, Prof.Girishwar Misra, eminent Psychologist, Prof.Talat Ahmad, Vice Chancellor, University of Kashmir and Prof. Meena Hariharan, University of Hyderabad to name a few.

Prof. Meena Hariharan

Prof. Hariharan joined University of Hyderabad in the year 1992. Her academic contributions include four books, more than 100 articles, about 15 video lectures, and more than 25 projects. The Centre for Health Psychology, one of its kinds in the country was started with her initiative and she was the founder Director. Her core area of research is Behavioural cardiology.

This award is in recognition of her contributions towards the health and education of rural women. Prof. Hariharan worked towards the literacy of the rural women along with her colleague Prof. Ramabrahmam for 15 years. Alongside the evaluation of literacy campaigns in various districts in Andhra Pradesh, Odisha, Maharashtra, and Karnataka, she provided counseling and coping techniques to empower the neo-literate women. She played a significant role in the literacy campaign of University of Hyderabad during 2003-2004. Her research contribution to the psychosocial approach to cardiac health, which is neglected in particular, in women calls for a special mention. The intervention packages for hypertension patients and those undergoing CABG are developed by her and her team of researchers keeping women patients in focus. The goal of her biopsychosocial intervention mission is to evolve cost effective modules for cardiac health for the poor and the downtrodden with no gender discrimination.

Prof Meena Hariharan is the founder President of the Association of Health Psychologists, and the Chief Editor of Indian Journal of Health Studies.

Every year the recipients of awards are invited to Kolkota to deliver their talk in a meeting organized by them. However, due to the pandemic situation, Prof. Meena Hariharan was asked to send her recorded talk to the society.

Date: 22 October, 2021 at 6 to 7 pm.