The University of Hyderabad (UoH) has joined hands with Turaga Foundation, a city-based not-for-profit organisation, to administer the Narender Revelli National Media Fellowships for early-career journalists working in print, television, and the web in order to promote serious and public-spirited journalism.

The annual media fellowships instituted by the Foundation, amounting to about Rs.1 lakh every year, will be coordinated with the technical support of the University’s Department of Communication, which is among the top-ranking programmes in media studies and practice nationally. An MoU to this effect was signed today by Ms. Vasantha Sobha of the Turaga Foundation and the Registrar of the University, Mr. Sardar Singh, in the presence of Vice-Chancellor, Prof. B.J. Rao, the Head of the Department of Communication, Prof. Vasuki Belavadi, and Senior Professor of Communication, Prof. Vinod Pavarala.

Speaking on the occasion, the Vice-Chancellor expressed happiness at this collaboration and hoped that the fellowship will help encourage journalistic talents and contribute to public good. Ms.Vasantha Sobha, the Foundation representative, said the Foundation is pleased to be associated with the University of Hyderabad to administer the fellowships, which she expects will support young journalists to produce good, meaningful stories on pressing issues.

The Turaga Foundation is a not-for-profit, registered trust focused on achieving and promoting excellence in social, cultural, literary and professional spheres. The Foundation works in an integrative and collaborative manner in the broad areas of Literature, Media Studies, Journalism, Culture, Heritage, Environment, Education and Urban Planning.