Two NSS volunteers from University of Hyderabad, Ms. Menthri Soujanya and Mr. V. Hari Krishna, have brought laurels to the University as they received the National NSS Award from the President of India Shri. Ramnath Kovind at Rastrapathi Bhavan in New Delhi. The award ceremony took place on the 24th of September 2019 where these two volunteers from the University of Hyderabad received this award in the volunteer category. These awards have been  shortlisted for the year 2017-2018 for services done by them in various social programs, events and camps at national, state  and university level.

Menthri Soujanya receiving the Award from the Hon’ble President of India

These two volunteers have been selected out of 38,00,000 (Thirty Eight Lakh) NSS volunteers in the country. Total 30 NSS volunteers have been selected nationwide in which two volunteers are from the Telangana state. These two awards received by University of Hyderabad which in itself is a remarkable feat. Ms. Soujanya has completed her M.Phil in CALTS, School of Humanities, and Mr. Hari Krishna completed his Integrated MA in the Department of Hindi.

V. Hari Krishna receiving the Award from the Hon’ble President of India

The Vice-Chancellor, Prof. Appa Rao Podile, has appreciated these volunteers and the NSS Co-ordinator, Dr. V. Srinivasa Rao, for playing a vital role in helping his volunteers to achieve this fantastic recognition to the University.  The State NSS Officer, Prof. Vishnu Dev, congratulated the volunteers, the NSS Coordinator and the University for their productive progress in the outreaching programmes through the NSS activities.