University of Hyderabad (UoH), one of Institute of Eminence, announces its second set of Ph.D. scholars for the fellowship under the prestigious Prime Minister’s Research Fellows (PMRF) scheme. The following 10 (ten) Ph.D. students are the selected Research Fellows. The PMRF fellows shall be working in research areas with great scientific significance and advancement in varied applications.

Student Name School Supervisor Significance of the research

Anu Bovas

School of Chemistry Prof. T. P. Radhakrishnan Development of efficient and stable electrocatalysts for hydrogen generation from water

Shanmugapriya V

School of Chemistry Prof. Pradeepta K. Panda Development of pyrrole based high-performance energetic materials for civil and defence applications

Nowduru Ravikiran

School of Engineering Sciences and Technology Prof. V. V. S. S. Srikanth Development and production of novel automotive nano lubricants as a replacement to the current day hazardous ones with an aim to improve the fuel efficiency and reduce the harmful emissions, eventually prolonging the automobile life

Sai Snehitha Yadavalli

School of Engineering Sciences and Technology Dr. Swati Ghosh Acharyya Development of  electrochemical sensor for real-time online monitoring of toxic heavy metal ions in water

Harita Pant

School of Engineering Sciences and Technology Prof. V. V. S. S. Srikanth Development of novel energy storage devices through nanomaterials-based interventions

Dinesh Kumar Singha

School of Physics Prof. Rukmani Mohanta Optimization of the future long-baseline neutrino experiments to help in probing new physics beyond the standard model of particle physics

Gummadi Arun Prakash

School of Physics Dr. Gundawar Manoj Kumar Characterization of a Standoff LIBS system to identify plastics and metals to reduce humans’ presence in high-risk environments.

Chandan Ghorui

School of Physics Prof. A. K. Chaudhary Development of Terahertz Radar system for study of remote metallic, organic and explosive targets

R. Sarada

School of Life Sciences Prof. J. S. S. Prakash Engineering of cyanobacterium Synechocystis sp. PCC 6803 for the production of biofuel

Mukulika Mandal

School of Life Sciences Prof. J. S. S. Prakash Characterization of the genetic regulation mechanisms for environmental stress adaptation in cyanobacterium species, which will help produce genetically modified, high yield, and stress-resistant crops

The National Coordination Committee of the PMRF scheme made the selection of the above students. Each fellow under the PMRF scheme will receive a starting monthly fellowship of Rs. 70,000/-, which may increase to a maximum monthly fellowship of Rs. 80,000/- towards the end of Ph.D., provided the performance during the initial years of Ph.D. is satisfactory. Apart from this, each fellow would be eligible for a Rs. 2 Lakhs research grant per year.

UoH was allotted a total of 18 PMRF fellowships for the PMRF 2020 cycle. However, in the current selection, one additional fellowship has been granted to UoH. UoH thanks the Ministry of Education and the National Coordination Committee, PMRF, for the same. For the PMRF 2020 cycle, a total of 19 Ph.D. students have been selected. 

Prof. Appa Rao Podile (Vice-Chancellor, UoH), Prof. N. Siva Kumar (Chairman, Internal Expert Committee (IEC)), All the members of IEC, Prof. Vadali V. S. S. Srikanth (PMRF co-ordinator at UoH and Convenor, IEC), and the entire University fraternity heartily congratulates the selected PMRF Fellows. Prof Appa Rao congratulates all the 19 PMRF fellows and their supervisors for preparing research proposals related to solving pertinent energy, environmental, medical, and agricultural problems with novel scientific concepts. Prof. Appa Rao expressed great happiness for 100% success in filling the PMRF vacancies at UoH.