Thousands of students patiently waited in long queues and exercised their franchise at the 16 polling booths set up at various departments to vote for University of Hyderabad Students’ Union Elections (2019-2020) on September 26, 2019.

Twenty four (24) candidates will be contesting for the position of Office Bearers viz President (5 candidates), Vice-President (5 candidates), General Secretary (4 candidates), Joint Secretary (4 candidates), Cultural Secretary (3 candidates) and Sports Secretary (3 candidates). In addition, One hundred and twenty four (124) candidates will be contesting for different positions of School Board Members (Research & PG), School Councillors and Internal Complaint Committee (ICC – GSCASH) representatives for the Research, PG and Integrated segments. 

The polling across the campus was smooth and the day saw a good turnout with students lining up patiently at their departments to cast their vote. More than 75% polling took place by end of the day.

Candidates and their campaigners from different students’ groups were seen outside all the schools guiding the students and briefing them about the procedures at polling centers.

Counting of the votes/ballots will be done on September 27, 2019 from 9 am onwards. Final results are expected to be declared by late evening.