Ph.D. Scholar in Economics gets the coveted award for his thesis



Harendra Kumar Behera, Ph.D. Scholar in Economics at the University of Hyderabad (UoH) under the supervision of Prof. Vathsala Narasimhan, Professor in the School of Economics has been adjudged the winning entry in the prestigious Exim Bank IEDRA Award 2012 competition. Behera’s thesis ‘The Effects of Financial Openness: An Assessment of the Indian Experience’ was selected for the award. Presently Behra is working as Assistant Adviser in the Monetary Policy Department of Reserve Bank of India (RBI).

The Jury which selected the winning entry includes Dr. K L Krishna, Former Director and Professor Emeritus, Delhi School of Economics; Dr. D M Nachane, Former Director and Professor Emeritus, Indira Gandhi Institute of Development Research and Dr. Pulin Nayak, Professor at Delhi School of Economics. The objective of this Award is to promote research in international economics, trade & development and related financing by Indian nationals at universities and academic institutions in India and abroad. The Award consists of a sum of Indian Rupees Two hundred fifty thousand and a Citation.

Export-Import Bank of India instituted the Annual Award titled International Economic Development Research Annual (IEDRA) Award in 1989 in commemoration of Jawaharlal Nehru Birth Centenary (1889-1989). Research work by Indian nationals in international economics, trade & development and related financing (either awarded a Doctorate or accepted for award of Doctorate) from a university or equivalent academic institution in India or abroad is a prerequisite for eligibility of the Award.

Since inception twenty-eight winners have received the IEDRA Award including eleven from overseas institutions. The winning theses represent research in diverse fields including foreign direct investments, exchange rate regimes, foreign trade regimes, external debt, international technology transfer, joint ventures, international migration, and strategic trade policies. Pls see