We are proud to share that Mr. Balakrishna Ganesan (MA, Class of 2017) of the Department of Communication, University of Hyderabad has won the prestigious Ramnath Goenka Award 2022 for a series of articles on manual scavenging that he co-authored with his colleagues at The News Minute (TNM), Prajwal Bhat and Azeefa Fathima.

Balakrishna Ganesan

The series examined five municipalities in the states of Telangana, Tamil Nadu, Andhra Pradesh, Kerala, and Karnataka, which has reported high instances of the practice. Balakrishna has been with TNM for six years and is now senior reporter covering politics and social movements.

Congratulations and best wishes to Balakrishna Ganesan.