Prof. Appa Rao Podile, Professor of Plant Sciences and Vice-Chancellor of University of Hyderabad (UoH) today received the Indian National Science Academy (INSA) Fellowship, considered one of the prestigious fellowships in India. Prof. Appa Rao received the fellowship today (29th December 2017) from Prof. Ajay K Sood, President of the INSA at its 83rd Annual General Meeting held in Pune at the Indian Institute of Science Education and Research (IISER) – Pune.

The INSA, has appreciated the outstanding contributions of Prof. Appa Rao in Plant Sciences in general and plant-microbe interactions in particular. His recent work on transglycosylation by bacterial chitinases published in journals of high impact and his earlier contributions on the use of chitinolytic bacteria for the control of fungal diseases of plants were recognized by INSA. The citation reads that “his work on chitinases enabled the development of alternatives to the toxic antifungal compounds for plant protection”.

In 2017 Prof. Appa Rao was honoured with “Millennium Plaques Honour” by the Indian Science Congress Association, and an Honorary Doctor of Science by Ram Manohar Lohiya Avadh University, Faizabad. He has received several other awards and honours including the fellowships of four National Science Academies like Indian Academy of Sciences, Bangalore, National Academy of Sciences, Allahabad, National Academy of Agricultural Sciences, New Delhi, and Association of Microbiologists of India. In addition he is founding fellow of the Telangana Academy of Sciences and also the fellow of Andhra Pradesh Academy of Sciences.

Prof. Appa Rao has guided 20 students for Ph.D. and handled several national and international research projects. He has about 95 peer reviewed high impact publications and also filed 2 patents. His work has been cited more than 2200 times with an h-index of 25.

The Indian National Science Academy promotes science and its use in India. It was originally established in 1935 and was known as the ‘National Institute of Sciences of India’ until the present name was adopted in 1970. The Government of India recognised it in 1945 as the premier scientific society representing all branches of science in India. In 1968, it was designated as the adhering organisation in India to the International Council for Science (ICSU) on behalf of the Government of India. It is headquartered in New Delhi.

The Academy consists of Foundation fellows, Fellows (FNA) and Foreign Fellows. Election to the Academy is only by nomination.[3] The objectives of the academy encompass promotion of science in India including its application to national welfare, safeguarding the interests of the scientists, establishing linkages with international bodies to foster collaboration and expressing considered opinion on national issues.

It plays a role in promoting, recognising and rewarding excellence in scientific research. With a view to promoting the pursuit of excellence in the field of ‘Science and Technology’, the academy has instituted 59 awards, placed in 4 categories, viz International Awards, General Medal & Lecture Awards, Subject-wise Medals/Lectures and Awards for Young Scientists. It also publishes journals, organises scientific discussions and brings out proceedings and monographs.