Prof B P Sanjay of the Department of Communication, University of Hyderabad was honoured with an award for his contribution to Media Education. This was presented to him by the jury at a function at the India International Centre, New Delhi on the occasion of the Media Educators meet that addressed the need for dialogue and necessary mechanisms among and between multiple stake holders ranging from institutions, industry and the students.

Nominations were shortlisted by exchange4media and BW Businessworld edit Team and presented to a Jury that included:

Dr Pritam Singh Padmashri

Mr. Alok Mehta Padmashri

Mr Ashok Ogra

Dr. Annurag Batra

Ms. Sonia Singh

Mr. Avinash Pandey

Mr. Bhuvan lall

Mr Sajal Mukerjee

Mr Satish Jacob

Dr Surbhi Dahiya

Prof. Bharthur Sanjay had his basic academic training in communication and journalism at Bangalore University and obtained a Ph.D from Simon Fraser University Canada. He taught at University of Madras and M.S University, Tirunelveli before he moved to University of Hyderabad as a Professor in 1995. He was involved in studying the historic SITE experiment and his professional expertise and interests are in the areas of political economy of information and communication technologies, development communication, and international communication. He has been associated with various national and international bodies that chalk out policies on media education and research. He was the Director of the Indian Institute of Mass Communication, New Delhi. Prof. Sanjay was the Pro Vice-chancellor of the University two times. He also served as the first Vice-Chancellor of Central University of Tamil Nadu, Thiruvarur between 2009 and 2014.