This is the first time the award is being given to Mathematicians

Prof. S Kumaresan, Dean, School of Mathematics and Statistics and Professor of Mathematics at the University of Hyderabad (UoH) has been selected for the most prestigious Indian National Science Academy (INSA) Teachers Award for the year 2013. Prof. Kumaresan wins this award from INSA for his consistent and high level of teaching as well as his relentless efforts in continuing to nurture talent in the country. This is the first time that the award is being given to Mathematicians.

The Academy has instituted the INSA Teachers Award to recognize and value consistent and high level of teaching in Indian Colleges, Universities and Institutions. The award aims to recognize and honour teachers who have provided guidance and inspired students to take up careers in Science and Technology. All disciplines of Science and Technology including Medical & Engineering Sciences will come under the purview of this award. The award carries a scroll, a cash award of Rs. 50,000/- and a onetime book grant up to Rs. 20,000/-.

The persons selected for this award should be currently working or worked till retirement in India, with at least 20 years of teaching experience at undergraduate or postgraduate level in any Indian Colleges / Universities / Institutions.  The other receipients of this award for the year 2013 are Dr Aditi Nag Chaudhuri, Associate Professor and Head, Department of Microbiology, Lady Brabourne College, Kolkata; Professor Harihara Subra Mani, Adjunct Faculty, Department of Physics, Chennai Mathematical Institute, Chennai; Dr Lakshmy Ravishankar, Associate Professor, Department of Chemistry, K.E.T’s V.G Vaze College of Arts, Science and Commerce, Mumbai; Professor Partha Pratim Sahu, Department of Electronics and Communication Engineering, Tezpur University, Assam; Professor Ravindra Kumar Dube, Former Senior Professor and Head, Department of Materials Science and Engineering, Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur; Professor Richard Parrish Riesz, Former Professor, Department of Physics, The American College, Madurai; Dr Sambasivan Venkat Eswaran, Emeritus Scientist (CSIR), Department of Chemistry, St. Stephen’s College, New Delhi; Dr Sheela Uday Donde, Consultant (Academic), IISER, Pune and Formerly Head, Department of Life Sciences and Biochemistry, St. Xavier’s College, Mumbai and Professor Venkatraman Seetaram Hegde, *Dean (R&D), SDM College of Engineering and Technology, Dharwad.

Prof. S Kumaresan who is a senior faculty in the School of Mathematics and Statistics at UoH is largely involved with MTTS, the MATHEMATICS TRAINING AND TALENT SEARCH PROGRAMME.

This programme aims at the following:

·         To teach mathematics in an interactive way rather than the usual passive presentation. To promote active learning, the teachers usually ask questions and try to develop the theory based on the answers and typical examples. At every level the participants are encouraged to explore, guess and formulate definitions and results.

·         To promote independent thinking in mathematics.

·         To provide a platform for the talented students so that they can interact with their peers and experts in the field. This serves two purposes: i) the participants come to know where they stand academically and what they have to do to bring out their full potential and ii) they establish a rapport with other participants and teachers which help them shape their career in mathematics.

UoH Herald congratulates Prof. Kumaresan for winning this prestigious award