Dr. Vijay Prasad Dimri currently Dr. Homi J. Bhabha Chair Professor at Centre for Earth, Ocean and Atmospheric Sciences, University of Hyderabad (UoH) has been appointed as the President of the 36th International Geological Congress (IGC) – 2020 by the Cabinet Committee of the Government of India. The 36th IGC provides a platform for the global scientific community to discuss various thematic issues of planet Earth like dynamics and evolution, resources for future generations, natural hazards, environment degradation and climate change. About 8000 -10,000 scientists across the world are expected to participate in this global event.

Prior to joining as a Chair Professor at UoH, Prof. Dimri served as a Director National Geophysical Research Institute (2001-2010), Director, Gujarat Energy Research and Management Institute, Gandhinagar (March to October 2010), Distinguished Scientist of Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (2010-2013), and INSA Senior Scientist for 3 years (2013- 2016).

Dr. Dimri has been conferred civilian award ‘Padma Shri’ by the Govt. of India in 2010. He delivered the prestigious ‘Sir Axford Lecture’ in Asia Oceania Geosciences Society. Dr. Dimri is the first Asian to get Lorenz Award Lecture by American Geophysical Union in the field of non-linear geophysics. Among the many other important awards conferred on him are the Prof. G.P. Chatterjee award by Indian Science Congress, Outstanding Scientist Award by FAPCCI, Department of Ocean Development Award, National Mineral Award and National Geoscience Award by MoES. He is a Fellow of several science academies including Fellow of Third World Academy of Sciences (TWAS), Indian National Science Academy (INSA), National Academy of Sciences (NASI).