M/s. Penam Laboratories Limited, based in New Delhi (https://www.penam.in), is one of India’s renowned producers of beta-lactam antibiotics and API formulations. The Founder and Managing Director of Penam Laboratories, Dr. Paras Nath Pandey has created an endowment fund for instituting Two Chair Professor positions at the School of Chemistry, University of Hyderabad.

1) Prof. Goverdhan Mehta Chair Professorship for regular faculty of School of Chemistry with emoluments of Rs:25,000/- per month and Rs:1,00,000/- contingency per year. The tenure of the selected chair will be for a maximum period of 2 years.

2) Prof. Goverdhan Mehta Visiting Chair Professor for internationally renowned eminent scientists/professors (India or abroad) in chemistry with emoluments of Rs:1,00,000/- per month. Guest House accommodation at UoH and one-time economy class air-travel (to and fro) will also be paid. A maximum of two visitors, sequentially, in a Calendar year can be taken. The term for each visiting chair will be minimum of two weeks and a maximum of three months.

The first list of two awardee faculty are:

1) Prof. Akhila Kumar Sahoo, School of Chemistry, University of Hyderabad

He was selected to be the inaugural holder of this prestigious position in category (1). His highly creative work in organic synthesis on metal-catalyzed C-H functionalization and alkyne cyclization stand out.


Awarded for the development of ingenious synthetic methods in C-H activation and for unveiling the novel reactions of ynamides.



2) Prof. Viresh Rawal, Department of Chemistry, University of Chicago

He was selected to be the inaugural holder of this prestigious position in category (2). His highly creative work in the synthesis of complex targets and the new methods developed stand out.


Awarded for his highly creative work in complex molecule total synthesis and the development of new, practical methodology in asymmetric synthesis.


“The scientific contributions of both the renowned faculty selected are world class and reflect well on Prof. Goverdhan Mehta’s unique contributions and his own passion for tackling the most difficult synthetic challenges. The inaugural holder will set the standard for this title and others that follow, and that is why the two names were selected.” said Prof. Ashwini Kumar Nangia, Dean, School of Chemistry.

“Prof. Goverdhan Mehta’s Chair Professorships is an excellent opportunity for the university to recognise the high performers from within and outside the system”, said Prof. B J Rao, Vice Chancellor, UoH. “I congratulate both the awardees in the first cycle of award distribution. All the best to the School of Chemistry and both the awardees”, he added.