UoH VC heads the 10-member committee setup by MHRD

The HRD Ministry has recently constituted a 10-member committee to suggest changes in a bill which seeks to set up innovation universities in the country and a roadmap for setting up such institutions.


The committee, which would submit its report in three months, would be headed by Vice-Chancellor of University of Hyderabad (UoH), Prof. Ramakrishna Ramaswamy. The members of the Committee include Shri Aromar Revi, Director, IIHS; Shri Ajay Batra, Azim Premji Foundation; Shri Deepak Chandra, Deputy Dean, ISB, Hyderabad; Prof. Brijendra Nath Jain, Vice-Chancellor, BITS, Pilani; Prof. C. Rajkumar, Vice-Chancellor, O.P.Jindal University, Sonipat, Haryana; Dr. Rao Aiyagari, Senior Adviser, PHFI, New Delhi; Dr. G. Mohan Gopal, Director, RGICS, New Delhi; Shri R.P.Sisodia, Joint Secretary (HE), Department of Higher Education, MHRD, New Delhi; and Shri Vikram Sahay, Joint Secretary, UGC.

The Committee will examine the report of the Parliamentary Standing Committee on Human Resource Development on the Universities for Research & Innovation Bill, 2012. It will also examine the modalities for establishment of Universities for Research and Innovation and suggest a road-map for establishment of such universities by reputed promoters. The Committee will also recommend changes in the provisions of the Bill, 2012 in the context of the observations/ comments of the PSC on HRD.

The Ministry of Human Resource Development introduced the Universities for Research & Innovation Bill, 2012 in the Lok Sabha on 21.5.2012.  The Bill provides for establishment and incorporation of Universities for Research and Innovation which would work towards making India a global knowledge hub. They would set benchmarks for excellence for other institutions of higher learning through path-breaking and promoting synergies between teaching, learning and research.