Six students of the M.Ed program from Department of Education and Education Technology, (DEET), School of Sciences, University of Hyderabad (UoH) Amrit Kumar, Vineela Palli, V Duoru Duo, Shambhavi Shukla, Namrata Mahato, and Kamtinkhup Haolai were selected to participate in the Teacher Preparation Programme (TPP) conducted by the Centre for Educational Research Innovation and Training (CERT) at the Aga Khan Academy Hyderabad.

Following a rigorous assessment process by CERT, these six individuals were chosen to join nine other students from esteemed universities across India for the programme. The TPP, structured as a multi-phase training initiative, aims to develop a cadre of educators equipped with the requisite disposition, knowledge, and skills to empower talented students. It serves as the foundational step toward obtaining an International Baccalaureate Educators Certificate (IBEC).

During the initial phase of TPP, the candidates underwent a two-week intensive ‘Choosing to Teach Institute’ training from April 22 to May 3. This comprehensive, full-time training provided them with the expertise and professionalism necessary to assume their roles as educational practitioners at the Academy.¬†Upon successful completion, all candidates were awarded certification and 70 hours of academic coursework accredited by the Professional Development Qualification (PDQ) at Cambridge University. Subsequently, four candidates out of the total 15 would advance to an 18-month TPP internship. The department expresses gratitude to Mrs. Pratibha Thimmaraya, Head CERT at Aga Khan Academy Hyderabad, for her cooperation and support in guiding our students.