Dr. V.S. Ashoka and Dr. P. Prem Kiran faculty at the School of Physics, University of Hyderabad have been selected as Senior Members of The Optical Society (OSA), USA.

Dr. V.S. Ashoka is also an Associate Professor his research areas include Quantum Optics & Quantum Information, Optical Tweezers/ Rheology of Complex fluids and Laser Cooling. Dr. P. Prem Kiran is an Associate Professor and his research areas include Ultrafast Optics, Laser induced Atmospheric Plasmas and Shockwaves.

Dr. V.S. Ashoka

OSA Senior Members are well-established individuals with a designation that recognizes their experience and professional accomplishments or service within their field that sets them apart from their peers. Senior Members have at least 10 years of significant professional experience and are active OSA Individual Members.

Dr. P. Prem Kiran

Founded in 1916, The Optical Society was organized to increase and diffuse the knowledge of optics, pure and applied; to promote the common interests of investigators of optical problems, of designers and of users of optical apparatus of all kinds; and to encourage cooperation among them. The purposes of the Society are scientific, technical and educational.

The Optical Society brings together optics and photonics scientists, engineers, educators, and business leaders. OSA’s membership totals more than 18,000 individuals from over 100 countries. Approximately 53 percent of the Society’s members reside outside the United States. OSA’s membership and activities include a global community of scientists, educators, engineers, technicians, students and business leaders with an interest in optics and photonics. OSA is committed to fostering the global optics and photonics community, particularly in countries with developing optics communities.

Over the course of OSA’s nearly one hundred year history, about 31 OSA members have been awarded a Nobel Prize in Physics, Chemistry or Physiology/Medicine.