University of Hyderabad (UoH), One of India’s Institute of Eminence, has announced the selection of its first set of Ph.D. scholars for fellowship under the lateral entry channel of the prestigious Prime Minister’s Research Fellows (PMRF) scheme. The following 9 (nine) Ph.D. students are the selected Research Fellows:


Name of the student Name of the Ph.D. supervisor
School of Chemistry

Ms. P. Rajya Lakshmi

Prof. D. B. Ramachary

Mr. D. Arun

Dr. Srinivasarao Yaragorla

Mrs. Kranthi Chatragadda

Prof. R. Nagarajan

Mr. Arunava Dutta

Prof. Tushar Jana
School of Life Sciences

Ms. Sreya P K

Prof. Ch. Venkata Ramana

Ms. Pavithra R

Prof. Rajagopal Subramanyam

Ms. Jyotisha

Dr. Insaf Ahmed Qureshi
School of Physics

Mr. Dipanjan Banerjee

Prof. Soma Venugopal Rao

Ms. Aiswarya T

Dr. G. S. Vaitheeswaran

The National Coordination Committee of the PMRF scheme made the selection of the above students.

Each fellow under PMRF scheme will receive a starting monthly fellowship of Rs. 70,000/-, which may increase to a maximum monthly fellowship of Rs. 80,000/- towards the end of Ph.D., provided the performance during the initial years of Ph.D. is satisfactory. Apart from this, each fellow would be eligible for a research grant of Rs. 2 Lakhs per year.

UoH can offer 13 fellowships under PMRF scheme through the lateral entry channel in the current cycle i.e., PMRF May 2020. Out of 13 fellowships, 9 fellowships are now announced. The remaining 4 lateral entry channel fellowships will be carried forward for the succeeding cycle. In addition to this, UoH can offer 5 direct entry channel fellowships under PMRF scheme in the current cycle.

Prof. Appa Rao Podile (Vice-Chancellor, UoH), Prof. N. Siva Kumar (Chairman, Internal Expert Committee (IEC) for PMRF lateral entry channel, May 2020 call), All the members of IEC, Prof. Vadali V. S. S. Srikanth (PMRF co-ordinator at UoH and Convenor, IEC), and the entire University fraternity congratulated the selected Research Fellows.