Prof Ramalinga Sastry of Department of Dance at the University of Hyderabad (UoH) is among the 44 artistes announced as winners in the field of music, dance, theatre, folk music and overall contribution in the performing arts by the Sangeet Natak Akademi, India’s National Academy of Music, and Dance & Drama.

Sangeet Natak Akademi Puraskar (Akademi Award) (IPA:Saṅgīta Nāṭaka Akādamī Puraskāra) is an award given as the highest National recognition conferred on performing artists. The award consists of Rs. ₹1,00,000, a citation, an angavastram (a shawl), and a tamrapatra (a brass plaque).

Prof Ramalinga Sastry

Prof. P Ramalinga Sastry has been serving in the University of Hyderabad for the past two decades imparting training in Bharatanatyam to young student aspirants. He joined the University in the year 1991 as Lecturer and was selected as Reader in the year 1998 and is now serving as Professor in the department of Dance.

In 2016, he has received the prestigious KALA RATNA award for his contribution to dance in India from the then Hon’ble Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh Shri. Nara Chandra Babu Naidu at Vijayawada. In 2012, he was awarded the “UGADI PURASKAR” for his contribution to Dance by the Government of Andhra Pradesh, “Ubhaya Natya Praveena” title by Thyagaraja Gana Sabha, Vijayawada and “Natyakaladhara” by ‘Sravni’ a cultural organization in the presence of  Gyanapeetha awardee Dr. C. Narayana Reddy.