The DST-UoH-Technology Enabling Centre (DST-UoH-TEC) in collaboration with UoH Institutional Innovation Council (UoH-IIC) organized an Institute Level hackathon by inviting students to work in teams to build working applications related to the problem statements listed in the SIH-2022 competition. The event was organized on 19th March 2022 at UoH-College of Integrated Studies.

13 teams consisting of 78 students participated in the event. The teams were  encouraged and motivated to enhance their skills and execute their projects as perfectly as possible. Six experts from different industries acted as judges for evaluating the teams. The experts from industry were quite impressed by the efforts put in by the teams and gave a few virtuous suggestions to the groups about how they can deploy their innovative projects and ideas in the actual market. The DST-UoH-TEC announced  cash prizes of Rs.10,000, Rs.8,000, and Rs.4,000 for the top three teams.

These winners created applications to address computer science, artificial intelligence, and computational linguistics challenges. Team Builders won the first prize for the solution to the problem statement: “Automated Identification of Fish Species (AutoFiS)”, second prize went to Eavesdroppers for “Automatic sign and photo detection from the uploaded documents by trainees during admissions using Artificial Intelligence and Optical Character Recognition” and third prize to NHacks for “Developing a system to Transliterate Regional language text into English /Hindi and perform matching using fuzzy logic/machine learning algorithms”.

The winning teams were invited to interact with the the Vice Chancellor, Prof. B.J. Rao. Prof.R.S.Sarraju, PVC and (UoH-IIC President) and Pro.G.S.Prasad, Director, RITE (UoH-IIC Vice-President). Dr. Nagender Kumar, organizer of the Internal Hackathon bried the Vice Chancellor about the competition. Druing his interaction with the winning team members, the Vice Chancellor showed keen interest to understand the approach followed by each team to findout possible solutions for the selected problem and gave valuable suggestions.

The Vice Chancellor handed over the certificates and cash awards to the winning teams. He  encouraged them to continue to work on finding solutions to the problems that are relevant to the society.  Dr. Swarupa Rani and Prof. Salman Abdul Moiz, member of the IIC and faculty from the School of Computer and Information Scineces were also present at the interaction.

Team Builders – First Prize winners: Arkaprabha Basu; Nilabja Sarkar; Mudit Bhatnagar; Drishty Gupta; Anubhab Chakraborty and Sharmistha Choudhury
Team Eavesdroppers – Second Prize winners: B. Nitin Sai; K. Roopa Yashasvini; Yasaswini Tiramdas; Rakesh Reddy; Ch. Rohan Reddy and Ch Subramanyam
Team NHacks – Third Prize winners: M Navyodai Kanth; N Jayanth; D Chandra Babu; Vanka Ramesh; Aparajita Singh and P Sangeetha