India Electronics Semiconductor Association (IESA) which is India’s premier industry body for Electronics Semiconductor Design and Manufacturing, awarded the Technovation Award to Centre for Advanced Studies in Electronics Science and Technology (CASEST), School of Physics at University of Hyderabad (UoH) as one of the best Skilling Entity in recognition of its M.Tech Programs, at the Vision Summit 2024 held on 24-25th January 2024.

The award was specifically in recognition of the hands-on training imparted to more than 150 students of the MTech (Integrated circuits technology) and M.Tech (Microelectronics and VLSI) programmes. Uniquely, the training in  Integrated Circuits Design and Semiconductor Manufacturing Process, as part of the course curriculum, is provided in a fabrication facility. The fab, located in the Centre for Nanotechnology of the University, has Class 1000 and class 100 cleanroom areas and is equipped with sophisticated facilities for micro/ nano electronic/ semiconductor device fabrication.

The Ministry of Electronics and Information Technology awarded the Chip2Startup project to CASEST in 2023, with free access to centralized EDA tools and Development boards to strengthen the teaching and research programs as well as produce a larger number of skilled human resource required for the National semiconductor mission.

In his congratulatory message, Prof. B.J. Rao, Vice Chancellor University of Hyderabad said “The Award for Skilling to CASEST, UoH as a Technovation Award recently symbolises the long-standing commitment and delivery of high-quality training and education imparted in CASEST for decades now. I congratulate the teachers (current and past) in CASEST for this significant achievement. This award must spur the stakeholders to keep delivering the quality at scale and be much more competitive in the rapidly changing dynamic eco-system of the country. All the best and many more glories in future.“

More details on the activities of CASEST are available at: For details about the admissions to the M.Tech programmes,  email can be sent to: