Dr. D. Narayana Rao, Retd. Professor in the School of Physics, University of Hyderabad (UoH) has been selected for the award of “Dr. Raja Ramanna Fellowship (RRF) Track-1” by the Department of Atomic Energy (DAE), Government of India for a period of three years.

Dr. Raja Rammana Fellowship scheme is intended to utilize the services of active retired scientists/engineers and technologists, who have been involved in high quality research in their specialized disciplines in the units of the DAE and who after retirement are keen to carry out R&D in the field of their choice and of interest to the DAE. As RRF, Prof. Rao’s research work would be on Nonlinear Optics with a particular focus on 2D IR and optical studies, optical limiting, setting up of advanced laser laboratory and interacting with Raja Ramanna Centre for Advanced Studies at Indore, guiding students for their Ph.D program and writing books/monograph.

About Dr. Narayana Rao:

Prof. Narayana Rao, born on May 1, 1949, obtained his Master’s in Physics from the S. V. University and Ph.D degree in Physics from the IIT Kanpur. Before joining the UoH as a faculty member, he worked as a research associate/visiting scientist on Ultrafast Laser Technology, Spectroscopy and Nonlinear Optics at the IIT Delhi, SUNY at Buffalo, NY, MIT, Cambridge, UMASS Boston, UMASS Lowell, USA, and the University of Trento, Italy. He is the recipient of CSIR fellowship, Senior National Research Council Fellowship (USA), UGC BSR Faculty Fellowship, and is a Fellow of Telangana Academy of Sciences and Andhra Pradesh Akademi of Sciences. He is a life member of Indian and American Optical Societies and also developed collaboration with many Indian and international institutions in his area.

He is an author of more than two hundred international publications, an equal number in national and international conferences and one patent; also served as a member of the DST committees of PAC, FIST, YSS and ECA schemes during the last twenty years. He was a member of the IUPAP Commission for six years. He is the current President of Indian Laser Association. His research work at the UoH is on Pancharatnam phase, spectral interferometry, incoherent laser spectroscopy, studies on local fields in RE doped crystals, ultrafast dynamics, transient grating spectroscopy, CARS, spectral diffusion in organic solids, second and third order susceptibilities through EFISHG, SHG, FWM, electro absorption, Z scan, photonic crystals, nanoplasmonics, SERS, supercontinuum generation, laser ablation, green synthesis of nanoparticles, and laser direct writing, leading to eighteen Ph.Ds at the UoH. He has also developed the state-of-the-art laser laboratories both for teaching and research at the University of Hyderabad.