The prestigious Eli Lilly & Company Asia Outstanding Thesis Award has been won by the students of the School of Chemistry at the University of Hyderabad (UoH) three times in row. Incidentally all these students have completed their research under the supervision of Prof. B Ramachary, faculty in the School of Chemistry at UoH. The University of Hyderabad is the only University in India to be recognized by Eli Lilly from the top ten institutions where students can apply for the award.


Dr. R. SAKTHIDEVI who is an M.Sc from Madras University won the Eli Lilly & Company Asia Outstanding Thesis Award 2013 for her thesis Observation of Neighboring Group Participation in Organocatalytic Asymmetric Reactions: Scope and Synthetic Applications.


Dr. Y. VIJAYENDAR REDDY who has his M.Sc from UoH won the Eli Lilly & Company Asia Outstanding Thesis Award 2012 for his thesis High-yielding Stereo selective Synthesis of Bioactive Molecules through TCRA and Barbas Dienamine Platform.


Dr. M. KISHOR who has done his M.Sc from Andhra University won the Eli Lilly & Company Asia Outstanding Thesis Award 2011 for his thesis Development of Organocatalytic Biomimetic Reductions: Scope and Synthetic Applications.

These awards recognize outstanding doctoral students who have completed their Ph. D. research, submitted their thesis and made significant contributions in the field of medicinal chemistry, organic synthesis, computational chemistry, structural biology, or analytical chemistry from one of the 10 institutions selected by Eli Lilly and Company. The institutions include Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore; Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur; Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay; Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur; National Chemical Laboratory, Pune; Central Drug Research Institute, Lucknow; Indian Institute of Chemical Technology, Hyderabad; Centre for Cellular and Molecular Biology (CCMB), Hyderabad; University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad and National Institute of Pharmaceutical Education and Research, (NIPER), Punjab.

UoH Herald congratulates the winners and wishes them luck in all their future endeavors.

Dr. Kishor – email:
Dr. Vijayendar Reddy – email:
Dr. Sakthidevi – email: