Recently SQUAD – The Society for Quizzes and Debates organized a quiz programme for the students of the Centre for Integrated Studies at the University of Hyderabad (UoH) under the aegis of SHAPE Your Thought – SYT. The programme was inaugurated by the Honourable Vice Chancellor Prof Ramakrishna Ramaswamy, who spoke on the occasion and donned the role of a Quiz Master and gifted Chocolates as prizes for right answers. His wit and words sparked the student team spirits.

kpn  audience

A large number of students enrolled in a novel way via SMS for participation in this quiz with enthusiasm. A whopping 33 teams registered for the preliminary round which consisted of General knowledge questions in a written format. As the students waited patiently for the results, they were oriented to the main quiz format with different rounds. Six teams, named after the rivers of India made it to the main round of the quiz.


The entire proceedings of the quiz programme were coordinated very professionally by the SQUAD team. Questions in the quiz evoked interest in all those who participated as well as the audience. In the initial rounds questions spanned topics on science, history, current affairs, sports and literature. The visual round was creatively designed and named “Connect’, with images displayed in a sequence and the connecting theme was identified by the teams. This was tough to crack and it had negative marks too, but the teams took it up as a challenge and cleared the hurdle with enthusiasm. Another round called “Choose Your Destiny” included a set of numbers that were linked to a theme. The team would select a number and had to answer the linked theme. This was a very interesting format and received positive feedback from all.

All teams participated with enthusiasm and competitive spirit.

The winning teams were

  • 1st Prize – Vamsi Manthena & Surya Abhishek
  • 2nd Prize – Shruthi Nambiar & Teja Teppala
  • 3rd Prize – Joseph George & Ramshad KM

1st Prize


2nd Prize


3rd Prize

The Brilliant team from SQUAD –

  • Sanjeev Vasudevan – The Quiz Mater
  • Sujin Babu – The Score keeper
  • Varun Mohan – the Chief Coordinator for SQUAD
  • Rachana L. – The anchor
  • Anuroop Sunny
  • A Hussain
  • Aneeta Philip
  • Jobin J
  • Rajeevan F R

UoH Herald congratulates all the winners and wishes the SQAUD team more quizzing and laurels.


SQUAD also launched its face book page and sought participation from the students on this occasion.

Log on to the SYT page for more information –

For more information and to register into SQUAD log on to –