Thousands of students patiently waited in long queues and exercised their franchise at the polling booths set up at various departments to vote for Students’ Union Elections (2016-2017) on September 28.


The students’ groups standing for elections this year include Ambedkar Students’ Association (ASA), the United Front for Social Justice consisting of Students Federation of India (SFI), Dalit Students’ Union (DSU), TVV, BSF and Telangana Students’ Front (TSF) and Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) along with the OBC Association (OBCA) is the third major group contesting.


Security was beefed up across the campus to ensure smooth elections and the day saw a good turnout with students lining up patiently at their departments to cast their vote for the six key positions and also three student councillors. More than 80% polling took place by end of the day. Candidates and their campaigners from different students’ groups were seen outside all the schools guiding the students and briefing them about the procedures at polling centers.


Due to technical reasons, there will be re-election to the School of Humanities School Board member and student councillor posts on September 29 from 9:00 am to 12 noon.

Counting of the votes/ballots will be done on September 29, 2016 from 9 a.m. onwards. Final results are expected to be declared by 5 p.m.