Prof. D. B. Ramachary, professor at School of Chemistry, University of Hyderabad has been elected as a Fellow of the National Academy of Sciences, India (NASI) in recognition of his research contributions from the University of Hyderabad.


Prof. Dr. D. B. Ramachary ( has more than 95 publications to his credit and has won other awards and recognitions like the Fellow of the Indian Academy of Sciences-Bangalore; Fellow of the Telangana Academy of Sciences-Hyderabad; CRSI Bronze Medal-2016; University of Hyderabad Chancellor’s Award-2014; B. M. Birla Science Prize in Chemical Sciences-2011; Anil Kumar Bose Memorial Award of the INSA-2010; Certificate of Appreciation as Best Thesis Adviser from Eli Lilly and Company, USA for 2011-2014; Member of the Royal Society of Chemistry; INSA Medal for Young Scientist-2006; Editorial Advisory Board Member of Organic & Biomolecular Chemistry Journal; Editorial Advisory Board Member of The European Journal of Organic Chemistry; Associate Fellow of the Andhra Pradesh Akademi of Sciences; and Member of The National Academy of Sciences, India.

He has successfully guided more than 15 Ph.D. scholars and his research areas include Asymmetric Organocatalysis, Supramolecular-Organocatalysis and Designing New Chemical Reactions.