Prof. Geeta K Vemuganti Professor in the School of Medical Sciences, University of Hyderabad (UoH) has been invited to contribute to several chapters for the World Health Organization (WHO) blue book on Eye Tumors and also invited to participate in the Consensus and Editorial Meeting of the WHO Classification of Eye Tumours, to be held at International Agency for Research on Cancer (IARC) in Lyon, France during Jan 11-13, 2018)

About Prof. Geeta K Vemuganti:

Dr. Geeta Vemuganti joined to lead and develop the fledgling School of Medical Sciences at the UoH in December 2010 after a long stint as head of ocular pathology services at the renowned L V Prasad Eye Institute, Hyderabad. A physician- pathologist by training, she has special interest and experience in ocular pathology and stem cell research. Her contribution to cutting edge stem cell research in ocular surface regeneration has led to benchto-bedside applications and won her several national and international awards and honors. She contributed significantly to establishing and expanding Ophthalmic Pathology as a subspeciality in the field of surgical pathology in India and initiated the first fellowship program of Post graduate Diploma Certificate course in Ocular Pathology under the aegis of Indian College of Pathologists. Dr Vemuganti earned her basic medical degree at the JLN Medical College, Ajmer before completing her MD in Pathology at the Nizam’s Institute of Medical Sciences. She has had advanced training in ocular pathology at the Doheny Eye Institute, Los Angeles, USA. She has published widely, authoring 160 papers in journals of international repute with a Citation Index of 1751 and H Index of 22 (Citation Gadget). She has guided several doctoral students in both basic and applied research projects. She was selected for the American Academy of Ophthalmology (AAO) Senior Achievement Award. This award symbolizes for her commitment to advancing the profession and positively impacting patient’s eye health and Dr. Ramineni Foundation USA award Visesha Puraskaaram in the year 2017.