Prof. R.S. Sarraju, Pro Vice-Chancellor of the University of Hyderabad (UoH) has been nominated as one of the Members of the Governing Board of the Auroville Foundation by the Government of India for a period of four years.

In addition to Prof. RS Sarraju, the Ministry of Education (MoE), Department of Higher Education, Government of India nominated the members of the Governing Board of the Auroville Foundation for a period of four years which include Shri R.N. Ravi Hon’ble Governor of Tamil Nadu (Chairman); Dr. Tamilisai Soundararajan, Lieutenant Governor of Puducherry (Member); Dr. Nirima Oza, Professor, D/o Oral Pathology, Mahatma Gandhi Postgraduate Institute of Dental Sciences, Puducherry (Member); Shri Aravindan Neelakandan, Writer and Journalist, Tamil Nadu (Member); Prof. Goutam Ghosal, Department of English & Other Modern European Languages, Visva-Bharti, Santiniketan, West Bengal (Member); Prof. Nandana Gurappa Basappa, Department of PG Studies in Political Science, Karnataka University, Dharwad (Member); Joint Secretary (ICC), Ministry of Education, Govt. of India (Ex-Officio Member); Joint Secretary & Finance Advisor, Ministry of Education, Govt. of India (Ex-Officio Member).

Auroville is an experimental township in Viluppuram district, mostly in the state of Tamil Nadu, India, with some parts in the Union Territory of Pondicherry in India. Auroville is intended to be a universal town where men and women of all countries are able to live in peace and progressive harmony, above all creeds, all politics and all nationalities. The purpose of Auroville is to realize human unity. As on now there are more than 3000 residents from 54 countries residing at Auroville.

The Auroville Foundation was established under the 1988 act of the Indian Parliament. The Act stipulated the vesting of all movable and immovable assets of the city in a foundation, known as Auroville Foundation and the creation of a three-tier governing system: the Governing Board; the Residents’ Assembly and the Auroville International Advisory Council. The highest authority is the Governing Board selected by the Government of India.