Mr. V. Rakesh Kumar, PhD Scholar in the Advanced Centre for Research in High Energy Materials (ACRHEM) at the University of Hyderabad (UoH) has been selected for the Dr. K.V. Rao Scientific Society Young Scientist Award for the year 2015-16 for Outstanding Achievement in Physics. He has been given this award for his research work in” Effect of short pulse duration on Transparent Dielectrics: Understanding Water’s Mysterious Behaviour”.


As part of this award Mr. Rakesh Kumar was presented a Trophy, Citation and Rs:20,000/- on 11 June 2016. He is carrying out his research under the able guidance of Dr. Prem Kiran at ACRHEM, UoH.


The Dr. K V Rao Scientific Society honours the work of young scientists under the age of 30 years by presenting Annual Research Awards in various fields of science, viz., Chemistry, Physics, Biology and Mathematics. The Research awards in each of the categories includes a Trophy and a Cash Award of Rs. 20,000/= to one promising Young Scientist and Trophies and Rs. 10,000/= each to other candidate/s selected from final presentations. Special consideration awards of Rs.10,000/= are given to candidates in all the fields based on the judges’ recommendation.

More details available at