The Great Britain Debate 2017 was organized at the Zakir Hussain Auditorium, University of Hyderabad (UoH) on October 13, 2017 in collaboration with British Deputy High Commission, Hyderabad. The theme of the Debate was ‘Cyber Security’.

The debate was presided over by Prof. P. Prakash Babu, Pro Vice-Chancellor-2, UoH.

Ms. Reena Dayal Yadav from Microsoft, Mr. Srikanth Srinivasan (Regional Director NASSCOM (AP & Telangana) and Mr. A Bharani Kumar, General Secretary Cyberabad Security Council, were the three judges for the debate.


The debate started with Pro Vice-Chancellor Prof P. Prakash Babu’s address to the gathering in which he mentioned about the achievements attained by University of Hyderabad. He also received a memento of British Deputy High Commission, Hyderabad, presented to the university.

Reena Dayal Yadav, who is a Chevening alumni herself said, “It was a lifetime experience to learn Grassroot Innovation at the Oxford University through Chevening scholarship.”

Mr. A Bharani Kumar, General Secretary, Cyberabad Security Council congratulated the organizers for choosing the topic ‘Cyber Security’ which is the future of the world. He expressed his desire to create cyber warriors in India.

The representative of British Deputy High Commission Mr. Andrew said that he is thrilled to organize this event at the University and is looking forward for further collaborations. He even spoke of several programs planned by the commission.

The semifinal debate started with noteworthy arguments put forward by all four teams and of which teams from the St. Joseph’s Degree and PG College, Hyderabad and English and Foreign Language University, Hyderabad made it to the finals, where they gave a strong fight to each other while debating on the topic “Should state have the final call in restricting internet content and access”.

With a close margin, Akansha Tanwar and Mohd. Huran from St. Joseph’s Degree & PG College, Hyderabad won ‘The Great Britain Debate 2017, Hyderabad’ chapter.

The winners, participants as well as the volunteers were felicitated by trophies and certificates by the esteemed Judges.

The program ended with everybody posing for shutterbugs.

Swati Pant and Monika Tiwari
M.A. Communication