The University of Hyderabad has constituted the Election Commission comprising of nine faculty members Chaired by Dr V. Srinivasa Rao (Associate Professor, Centre for Regional Studies, School of Social Sciences), Co chaired by Dr Md. Zahidul Haque (Associate Professor, Dept. of Urdu, School of Humanities) and Dr B. Bindu Madhav Reddy (Assistant Professor, School of Life Sciences) to conduct the Students Union Election for the year 2019-2020.

The notification to file the nominations was released by the commission on September 17, 2019. Twenty four (24) candidates will be contesting for the position of Office Bearers viz President (5 candidates), Vice-President (5 candidates), General Secretary (4 candidates), Joint Secretary (4 candidates), Cultural Secretary (3 candidates) and Sports Secretary (3 candidates). In addition, One hundred and twenty four (124) candidates will be contesting for different positions of School Board Members (Research & PG), School Councilors and Internal Complaint Committee (ICC – GSCASH) representatives for the Research, PG and Integrated segments. A total of around five thousand students are eligible for voting and they will be casting their votes at Sixteen (16) polling booths.

The polling is scheduled for September 26, 2019 and the results shall be declared on September 27, 2019.A total of around Two Hundred (200) university staffs are engaged with the Election Commission in conducting the Students Union Election smoothly.