Dr. G S Vaitheeswaran, Assistant Professor in the Advanced Centre of Research in High Energy materials (ACRHEM) has been inducted as a Member in the most prestigious Royal Society of Chemistry (London) towards his contribution in understanding electronic structure of materials.


Dr. Vaitheeswaran is a Ph.D, from Anna University, Chennai and works in the areas of Solid State Theory, Computational Material Science, Lattice dynamics, High Pressure Studies etc.

He was also awarded the Department of Atomic Energy Young Achiever Award for the year 2012 towards his contribution in Solid State Physics.


The Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) is a learned society (professional association) in the United Kingdom with the goal of “advancing the chemical sciences”. It was formed in 1980 from the amalgamation of the Chemical Society, the Royal Institute of Chemistry, the Faraday Society, and the Society for Analytical Chemistry with a new Royal Charter and the dual role of learned society and professional body. At its inception, the Society had a combined membership of 46,000 in the UK and a further 8,000 abroad. The headquarters of the Society are at Burlington House, Piccadilly, London. The organisation carries out research, publishes journals, books and databases, as well as hosting conferences, seminars and workshops. It is the professional body for chemistry in the UK, with the ability to award the status of Chartered Chemist (CChem) and, through the Science Council the awards of Chartered Scientist (CSci), Registered Scientist (RSci) and Registered Science Technician (RScTech) to suitably qualified candidates. The designation FRSC is given to a group of elected Fellows of the society who have made major contributions to chemistry and other interface disciplines such as biological chemistry. The names of Fellows are published each year in The Times (London). Honorary Fellowship of the Society (“HonFRSC”) is awarded for distinguished service in the field of chemistry.