Prof.U.K.Anandvardhanan, presently at IIT Bombay and Alumnus of the University of Hyderabad has been awarded the prestigious Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize 2020 in Mathematics.


He did his M.Sc. Mathematics at University of Hyderabad (1998) and then his Ph.D. (2003) with Prof.Rajat Tandon, retired Professor of School of Mathematics and Statistics (SMS).

He is also the second student from SMS to receive the INSA Young Scientist Award (the first person being Prof.G.P. Rajasekhar, ( Dean, Planning and Coordination ), IIT Kharagpur, who did his Ph.D. with Prof.T.Amaranath, retired Professor of SMS)