1564 students graduate at the XVIII Convocation of UoH

Five faculty of UoH given the Chancellor’s Award for Meritorious Research

Live webcast of the Convocation done for fourth successive year

1564 students were awarded their degrees at the 18th convocation ceremony of University of Hyderabad, on Saturday, 1st October. The event, held at Brahma Kumaris Shanti Sarovar, was presided by Dr. Bibek Debroy, an esteemed economist and member of NITI Ayog, as the distinguished Chief Guest.


Dr. Debroy, in his energetic address gave life hacks to the graduating students, “Happiness and contentment comes from within you, and so you should compete with yourself and not others.” He also noted about the growing economic gap between the rich and poor. He addressed the students, “You are the elite youth of the country. Just 10% of country’s youth have access to higher education. So it’s up to you to bridge the divide and be the change.”

Dr. Debroy further said, “India will not change because the government changes. India will change when you change it. You are the young India. We proudly boast of our demographic dividend. We trust you. You are the torch bearers of the young generation. I have travelled across the length and breadth of India and I see young entrepreneurs coming up and it is that India which will make it change. Thirty five years from now some of you may be the Chief Guest at a function like this and by then try to transform your potential energy into kinetic energy. May your path be auspicious and may your path be full of fortunes”.

Earlier Dr. Debroy presented medals to the 99 meritorious students of the University which include 59 Endowment Medals, 20 University Medals and 20 SC/ST Medals.

Professor Appa Rao Podile, Vice Chancellor of the university, presented an array of awards to the various achievers from different fields. The most illustrious amongst those was Dr. Niyaz Ahmed, Head of department of Biotechnology, who won the prestigious Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize and Dr. Surajit Dhara of School of Physics who won the Swarnajanati Prize.


Both have been recipients of Chancellor’s award previously and were awarded a cash prize of Rs. 50,000 each. Dr. Niyaz shared his joy, “It’s the result of 15 years of research, where the University played a supportive role since 2008, when I joined. The University gives unhindered space for research. This along with the talented student support has been the reason for this award.”


The following teachers of the University were given the Chancellor’s Award at the Convocation:


Dr. S. Venugopal Rao, Associate Professor, Advanced Centre of Research in High Energy Materials (ACRHEM) for research in (a) ultrafast spectroscopic techniques for studies on energetic materials and (b) ultrafast photonics.


Dr. D. Venkateswara Rao, Associate Professor, Dept. of Telugu for research in ‘Literary Criticism, Dalit Literature and Diaspora Literature’.


Dr. Suresh Yenugu, Assistant Professor, Dept. of Animal Biology for research in Reproductive immunology, immunocontraception and antimicrobials.


Dr. VVSS Srikanth, Assistant Professor, School of Engineering Sciences & Technology for research in Advanced Nanomaterials for Energy Storage and Environmental Applications.


Dr. Alok Kumar Mishra, Assistant Professor, School of Economics for research in Financial Economics and Risk Management, Land, Housing, Urban and Transport Economics.


Prof. Appa Rao assured those gathered that the University’s commitment to fashion a unique and excellent research University which, will not only be an asset to the country but will also serve as a role model for other institutions. He announced that the University had been granted 17 patents and has been funded by national and international funding agencies like UGC, MHRD, DBT, DST, EU, DoE, IUSSTF and so on. He expressed his delight in sharing that the University is now among the top 3.9% institutions providing higher education worldwide as per a study done by Centre for World University Rankings (CWUR) and QS World rankings by subject has also ranked the University among the best places in the World to study English, Chemistry and Physics.


A total of 1564 students graduated from the University comprising of 235 M. Phil, 267 Ph.D., 152 M. Tech, 754 Post Graduate and 156 Integrated PG students. 827 students received their degrees in person. The faculty has written over 1,300 books and more than 17,000 research papers. Last year, the university was ranked among the top institutions in the country and saw a staggering number of placements.

The convocation proceedings was webcast live for the third successive year. It was a joyous occasion for many graduates who were seen celebrating their success with their family and friends. And for the University it was a day of fulfillment to witness so many of its students embarking on a new voyage in their lives where they will be claimants of rights and at the same obligated to discharge duties in a meaningful way in the society.

by Donita Jose
Department of Communication