Dr. Murali Banavoth, Assistant Professor at Solar Cells and Photonics Research Laboratory, School of Chemistry, University of Hyderabad, has been selected to receive the DST Nano-Mission National Research Award in Nanoscience and Technology – Young Career Award-2019 for the outstanding contributions to the advancement of Nanoscience and Technology.

This prestigious award search cum Selection Committee was chaired by Professor CNR Rao under the Nano Mission, Govt of India. Dr. Banavoth will receive this award at Nano India-2019 Biennial National Conference. The flagship scientific event of nano mission programme by the DST, “Nano India” this year will be hosted by Mahatma Gandhi University, Kottayam, Kerala on April 26 & 27th, 2019. The Patron will be none other than Bharat Ratna Professor CNR Rao, FRS.

The award constitutes a citation with a cash prize of Rs. 50,000.

Dr. Banavoth has been earlier selected as Young Scientist for BRICS (Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa) in 2017 and the International Society for Energy, Environment and Sustainability (ISEES) Young Scientist Award in 2018. His research interests are broadly classified as organic, inorganic, and hybrid solar cells and photovoltaics.