Professor S Dayananda and Professor B Senthilkumaran, both faculty members of the Department of Animal Sciences, in the School of Life Sciences at the University of Hyderabad (UoH) have been elected as Fellows of the of the Indian National Science Academy, New Delhi.

While Prof. S Dayananda has been elected based on his pioneering work in the area of Molecular Microbiology and Bioremidiation, Prof. B Senthilkumaran has been elected based on his pioneering work in the field of Fish Molecular Endocrinology and Reproductive Biololgy.


Prof. S Dayananda has done his PhD from S V University, Tirupati. His areas of research include Microbial adaptation, Molecular Evolution, Horizontal Gene Transfer among soil bacteria, Bioremediation etc.

Prof. Dayananda has received awards like DAAD Fellow 1988-90, BMST Visiting Scientist – 1993, Ministry of Science & Technology, Govt. of Germany, Commonwealth Academic Staff Fellow – 1995, International Research Development Award 1999-2003 by the Wellcome Trust, UK, Scientist of the year – 2007, Govt. of Andhra Pradesh, Fellow Andhrapradesh State Academy of Sciences-2009, Fellow Indian National Science Academy, 2010.


Prof. Senthilkumaran has done his PhD from Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi. His areas of research include Fish Molecular Endocrinology, Molecular Reproductive Biology, Neuroendocrinology etc.

Prof. Senthilkumaran has received awards like Young Scientist Award, ESCE, the Netherlands (1994), STA fellow, NRIA, Mie, Japan (1996-1998), JSPS & JST fellow, NIBB, Okazaki, Japan, (1998-2003), Visiting Scientist, CUHK, Hong Kong (December, 2006-January, 2007), Visiting Professor, NIPS, Okazaki, Japan (2008, 2011), JSPS Invitation Fellow, 2011-12, University of Miyazaki, Miyazaki, Japan, Guest Editor-2005, Fish Physiology and Biochemistry, Springer (Journals), the Netherlands, Academic Editor, PLoS One, from 2011 onwards, Editorial board member for Gene, Elsevier from 2012 onwards to name a few.

The Indian National Science Academy (INSA) was established in January 1935 with the object of promoting science in India and harnessing scientific knowledge for the cause of humanity and national welfare. The foundation of the Academy, earlier known as the National Institute of Sciences of India (NISI), was the outcome of joint endeavours of several organizations and individuals and the Indian Science Congress Association (ISCA) playing a leading role in this regard.

Prof. Dayananda can be reached on Email: /

Prof. Senthilkumaran can be reached on Email: /