The XVI Convocation of the University of Hyderabad (UoH) is scheduled to be held at 11:00am on Wednesday, October 1, 2014 at Global Peace Auditorium, Brahma Kumari Shanti Sarovar located on ISB Access Road, Behind JNIDB, Gachibowli, Hyderabad.

Prof. Mrinal Miri

Prof. Mrinal Miri

Professor Mrinal Miri, a well-known Philosopher and Educationalist and a Padma Bhushan awardee for his contribution in the field of education and literature, has kindly consented to be the Chief Guest and will deliver the Convocation address.

Hon’ble Shri E S L Narasimhan, Governor of Telangana and Andhra Pradesh and the Chief Rector of the University shall be the Guest of Honour and award the Medals.

Dr. C H Hanumantha Rao, Chancellor of UoH shall preside over the Convocation.

Prof. Palle Rama Rao

Prof. Palle Rama Rao


Dr. M.S. Valiathan

Professor Raghunathan

Prof. M.S. Raghunathan


Dr. Kapila Vatsyayan

Shri Gulzar

Shri Gulzar

Professor Palle Rama Rao, Padma Vibhushan awardee, well-known scientist in the area of Physical and Mechanical Metallurgy and the former Vice-Chancellor of UoH; Dr. M S Valiathan, Padma Vibhushan awardee and a renowned cardio-thorasic surgeon; Professor M S Raghunathan, Padma Bhushan awardee and a renowned Mathematician; Dr. Kapila Vatsyayan, Padma Vibhushan awardee and a leading scholar of classical Indian dance; Shri Gulzar, Padma Bhushan awardee and renowned poet, lyricist and film director will be conferred with Honaris Causa at the Convocation.

Late Zohra Sehgal

Late Smt. Zohra Sehgal

The late Smt. Zohra Sehgal, Padma Vibhushan awardee and well-known actress and choreographer will also be conferred with Honaris Causa posthumously, and the award will be received by her daughter Padma Shri Kiran Segal.